Day One of Blogging through Unemployment

Hi all! This is the official blog of the girl who rushed through college to graduate and become one in the 14.9 million unemployed Americans. Woohoot! Now that we have determined I am staying positive and still waking up with a smile… let’s see where this blog will take me in the meantime. To start, welcome to my life! Today was a little more productive than yesterday when I slept in until , oh, 11 a.m., I didn’t work out but not to my let-down because I had no intention of working out when I fell asleep the night before. I also went grocery shopping, Trader Joe’s is a staple in my life so one of my job requirements is there must be a Trader Joe’s within 15 miles of my career. Seems silly, but they’ve done studies to see how happy people are in their work-life and have found that certain amenities (like good ol’ TJ’s) must remain in a person’s life in order for them to maintain ultimate contentment.

You’ll also find that I make things up. For example, while I am sure there are random studies like the one listed above, I have never done official research to find these things out. I figure, as a writer, I can say whatever I want as long as I am not fabricating really important facts like “Bill Cosby died today” or “I have a Master’s in Geology from Cornell.” Moving on, after my trip to Trader Joe’s I put my groceries away, cut up some of the veggies and found out that I love raw zucchini with Ranch. It’s the little things in life that keep you going, ya know? When you find a new website you love, or a new television show, or that you have a hankering for zucchini and Ranch on a hot SoCal day.

After, groceries and the newfound love of raw roughage, I took a nap. Stop judging, I realize I just admitted to staying awake for around three hours before hitting the hay again but when you’re unemployed, this becomes routine in order to stay out of the “I’m bored, it’s been an hour, I should eat again” rhythm. I awoke from my nap to find that I was sweating my butt off in my 90 degrees apartment, turned on the A/C and sat down to research whatever company I thought would be a good fit for me. I applied for a position at Pioneer, I believe it is a electronic company. If I got the job I would be using my visual merchandising background and marketing! Fingers crossed for your blogger on this one. We’ll see if my theory of cover letters works. I wrote a really thoughtful one so maybe they’ll take the bait?

Today, I forced myself to wake up a little earlier and workout! I went on a great run, probably around six miles or so, and did some lazy-girl arm weights and some ab things. By some, I mean about 12 then I was over it. It’s funny how you just get to the point where all you can think about is lunch and standing in front of the mirror trying to flex yours abs is impossible for a brain and body who wants to focus on the George Foreman Grill.

I have been getting a little crazier with my cooking skills! Today was Taco Tuesday and I made chicken tacos with homemade guacamole (count it… HOMEMADE), beans and of course the Vietnamese Rooster Sauce (sriracha) that has surpassed my Spray Butter addiction in the past months. After Taco Tuesday I cleaned up, showered, and set-out to find a MS Excel course so I can put that on my resume. If there is one thing I HAVE actually slacked off on it is learning Excel. I realize this is an extremely boring topic so I won’t go into detail. Just know that if I got hired and they asked me to “make a spreadsheet” I might start crying and just walk out to spare myself the embarrassment of my boss knowing I can’t perform a simple task on the computer.

In order to feel even more productive, I only watch the history channel before 4 p.m. Today was the special on Killing Pablo, the biggest drug dealer in U.S. history. Pablo Escobar was a billionaire who got too big for his own britches and was killed by U.S. officers in 1993. FYI, the movie “Blow” is awesome if you haven’t seen it and it involves his life and career smuggling drugs into the country. Enough about cocaine though, it is now 6 p.m. and I plan on passing out before 9 p.m. so I can get my regular 12 hours of sleep and be nice and rested for a day of pretty much the same thing tomorrow. If anything over-the-top happens I’ll be sure to let you know! I feel like this is where I should have a tagline that makes me unique… This is JessicaRene, still unemployed but still smiling!

2 thoughts on “Day One of Blogging through Unemployment

  1. My life is on the oposite spectrum of yours…I work too much and wish I could be home taking a nap, working out, and cooking…but leave the job hunting part out. The question is, will we ever be satisfied with life? The answer, yes, we will be and we should be and deep down inside we really are. Contentment and balance…

  2. Jess…this is great. I still remember you doing your “brass monkey, that funky monkey” (or something like that). Of course you were only 11 or 12 at the time!

Leave a Reply

